Auction for madness

‘Oh, you can’t help that,’ said the Cat: ‘we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.’

‘How do you know I’m mad?’ said Alice.

‘You must be,’ said the Cat, ‘or you wouldn’t have come here.’” 

 

              Auction for madness

“Are you familiar with the definition of insanity brother?”

“Doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different result.”

“Exactly. So, I have a question for you. Who do you think’s madder, you or me?”

“Oh…you’ve given me a riddle now. But I don’t know the answer. I suppose neither do you, so we’ll never find out.”

One drew a pistol and the other remained motionless, his fist pressed to his cheek as he leaned on the arm of the chair.

A fire shot through the stillness of the dimension that had transformed itself into a small house and a body dropped to the floor, blood dripping through the cracks in the planks. Then a door opened and he walked back in retaining his position in the chair.

“Say Brother, have I ever told you the definition of insanity?” There was a smirk.

The hand threw the pistol and brother charged at brother once more with a sword he had unhooked from the wall.

He stopped before the chair, blade aiming for the throat. His brother’s eyes behind the spectacles sparkled with thrill. He’d poke them out later.

“I can trust my own madness to the end. Can you say the same for yours?”

Again the dimension shifted transforming into a much bigger house, in which many rooms a shriek echoed.

Thus began a game of riddles and madness and tortures.

 

17 thoughts on “Auction for madness

  1. And so the insanity continues… 🙂

    Not a true parallel, but the story made me think of the film “Dark City” where the buildings, and people’s roles kept shifting, as the mysterious “Strangers” searched for a way to continue their existence.

    • Oh there’s a bit of this and that for sure! These two and perhaps two more! But I’d be mad if I don’t put them somehow into a small tribute of some sorts, right? Thanks for the comment Katherine, glad for the fun!

  2. And on, and on, and on, and on….

    Loved this, Cindy. The “He’d poke them out later” line made me chuckle!

Likes and comments are always appreciated!

