1 year anniversary! Forth story: Sunflowers

Forth story from the 100 word game to celebrate b-day of my blog is up!

Phil Ambler  (@Phlambler) suggested Drum – Chutzpah – Staple.   Now I took the liberty (heh oops!) to write an extended version of the 100 word piece because I loved the words and saw them as an opportunity for something a bit longer. You can find that at the end of the post. Enjoy!

 

Sunflowers

I arrived in a small town famous for its sunflower fields and unsolved murder.

Little Lily’s face peaked from underneath new advertisements. I removed the paper, careful to preserve what was previously stapled. Fading, she stared me with innocence.

My stomach churned.

The house where they kept her was near. I walked there.

“You’re crazy to go in. Or chutzpah.  It’s haunted”.” an old man approached.

He saw my confusion. “Bold. Brave.”

I looked at the house. Old, rotten, dark.

But I went closer,  feeling a presence, the persistent sound of a toy drum calling me inside.

 

The sunflowers whispered.

 

* * *

Extended version

Sunflowers

It was the end of August when I arrived in the town famous for its sunflower fields and unsolved murder.

Yellowing posters with little Lily’s smiling face peaked from underneath new advertisements. I gently removed the paper, trying to preserve what was previously stapled there. Fading, she stared at me with innocence.

My stomach churned.

I went to the house where she was kept.  So close and yet no one knew.

“Are you one of those “ghost hunters”?” an old man had approached me. I nodded.

“Ah, a whole lot of you came here. I saw not a few running out, pale as sheets! Huh, you’re either crazy, or chutzpah! Maybe both.”

He saw my confusion. “Bold. Brave.”

I looked at the house. Old, rotten, dark.

“Do you believe it’s haunted?”

The man shook his head.

“No. But evil lived there for long enough to grow seeds. There’s a bad memory, and bad memories are worst than nightmares” He walked away, mumbling more in Yiddish then English.

I took the first step, feeling it cracking under the pressure.  Before the door I felt the presence I knew was there. Weak, but loud enough for me to hear it. To try to help it.

The persistent sound of a toy drum came by and passed on calling me inside.

I opened the door.

 

The sunflowers whispered.

4 thoughts on “1 year anniversary! Forth story: Sunflowers

  1. Very eerie this one Cindy, with the taste of an underlying menace.
    I prefer the extended version, for me the extra detail added to the sinister atmosphere.

    Are you writing a follow-on about after she enters the house?

    Go on… Ya know ya want to. 🙂

    Happy Bloggybirthday too. 🙂

    (Throws Glitter)

    •。★  ☾ °☆  . * ● ¸ .   ★ ° ☆¸.✶*¨`* •.¸¸❤¸¸.•*¨*• ¸.¸.☆¨¯`♥´¸¸.☆¨¯`♥´ ¸¸.☆¨¯` •*¨`*•. ☆ .•*¨`*•. ☆‿↗⁀↘‿↗⁀☆‿↗⁀↘‿↗⁀☆ 。☆‿↗⁀↘‿↗⁀☆‿↗⁀↘‿↗⁀☆ 。

Likes and comments are always appreciated!

